Foreign…Ilocos Empanada

This week’s challenge invites us to post images that convey things unfamiliar.

Foreign to me is the famous Ilocos Empanada.

Late summer of 2012 saw us heading up north. Ilocos is located northwest of Luzon and borders to the east Cordillera and Cagayan regions and to the south Central Luzon. West north to it is the South China Sea. Need I say that it’s a nine hour drive from Manila?

My friends who originated here solemnly declare almost always that an Ilocos trip will not be complete without a taste of their celebrated empanada.  

An empanada is a stuffed bread or pastry baked or fried. It is made by folding dough around stuffing of meat varieties, cheese, vegetables or fruits, among others.

Ilocos Empanada have fillings of green papaya, mung beans and should you desire yours special, they’d throw in chopped Ilocano sausage and egg yolk. The stuffed dough, colored achuete-orange, is deep-fried till crisp, and is best dipped in sukang Iloko (vinegar with chili peppers is the way to go, hot but good!)

As I stated above, it’s all foreign to me. Should you know how they do it, check these out for all things that is empanada:

http://www.balikbayanmagazine.com/index.php option=com_content&view=article&id=356

http://biagkensiak.wordpress.com/2007/02/01/two-kinds-of-ilocos-empanada/

If I find myself craving for a bite or two but just couldn’t drive all the way up north, a number of foodies here in and around Manila could give our Ilokano friends way up north a run for their money, err empanadas.

And now that I’m done with my entry, you have to excuse me. This made me hungry…much!

About xristinamaria

i am an amateur. french portrays me as someone who does something for the sheer love of it. a lover of arts: i shoot, read, write, sing, act and dance. now, i wordpress ",)
This entry was posted in photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Foreign…Ilocos Empanada

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    That looks delicious.

  2. Veronica Roth says:

    Mmmm, nicely foreign; I love hot foods. Do you like trying new things? I do. Except for the deep-fried bees one South American student brought us. Not sure about those. 🙂

    • deep-fried you say? a couple of summers ago, we joined New Tribes Mission camp over at Bataan…a missions camp…we’re challenged to try deep-fried beetles (the brown ones, we used to play with them when we were kids…usually they’re on mango trees) enough to say, they lost me at the mere mention of “fried beetles”

      guess, i’ll let Andrew Zimmern of Bizarre Foods do all the eating of these kind of stuff hahaha

      thanks for visiting 😉

  3. bebs1 says:

    I am from Ilocos Sur so I am partial to the Vigan empanada, which is much lighter in color. Am sure they both taste the same, I am just biased. Anyway I heard some places in Manila sells them there. Or next time you are in Ilocos have the vendor pack it for traveling – I had friends from Cebu who visited me in Ilocos and they were able to bring them home.

    • we did just that on our way back to Manila…a couple of weeks ago, Robinson’s Galleria hosted a food festival …the empanada stall sure got the longest line of customers “,)

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    That’s pretty exotic and foreign to me. I love the empanadas I’ve had, but never one so unusual!

Leave a Reply

